Dress color change!!

Sorry I did not get a chance to post my new and improved dress yesterday but here I am. SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

So I used this Fabric Dye I found in the craft section at Walmart. I was really hoping to make the dress mint colored. I figured if I made this color light enough it might look similar to mint. I dyed the dress following the instructions on the back.

I used a bucket instead of sink or washing machine.

I put in half the packet and filled the bucket half way which is way more than the one gallon they say to fill it too. I figured more water lighter color.

Also the packet says the hotter the water the deeper the color so I put in luke-warm water instead of steaming hot like the packet says.

I did add the full 1/4 cup of salt.

It says to stir continuously for 15 minutes and then every so often for 45 minutes…something along those lines. I stirred it for maybe 10 minutes and got bored. So I put on the timer and went out every 10 minutes to stir for a minute.

When the time was up I rinsed off the dress with cold water and put it in the washer. I used warm water and detergent. The packet didn’t specify about the detergent so I look it up on the website and they say yes use soap and to also dump the whole bucket of colored water in the washer. That scared me a little because it is not my washer and I was going for a really light color so I skipped that.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERASANYO DIGITAL CAMERA 

There is the before and after. The color did not look anything like mint. It doesn’t even look like the turquoise it is supposed to be. It is I guess a sky blue. It is still super cute. The color came out evenly all over.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

I wore it with:

* coral colored sweater from Forever 21

*I made myself a tulle belt

* used my pink with green polka-dots clip from my store to clip to the cardigan

I don’t have a timer on  my camera to get a good full body shot. I will have to figure out a way to do full body pics. : )

 

Leave a Reply

